## New structure for JD/MBA Committee

Prior update: 6/28/21 Latest update: 10/13/21

The JD-MBA committee will become a joint committee of Columbia Law School and Columbia Business School, starting in the 2021-22 academic year. Specifics of purpose, responsibilities, and membership are described below

## Purpose and Responsibilities

The role of the joint JD/MBA Committee is to provide input and conduct analyses on ways to enhance the JD/MBA program. This includes i) providing input and recommendations to the Schools about which courses should be cross-listed at Columbia Business School and Columbia Law School; ii) providing input to the schools about new courses that could potentially be offered at one or both schools; iii) working to improve coordination between the schools in the administration of the JD/MBA program; iv) supporting the admissions offices of the two schools in the admission and recruitment of students into the dual-degree program; v) helping plan (together with the Richman Center) co-curricular events for JD/MBA students and alumni.

## <u>Membership</u>

- 1) The committee shall consist of the following voting members
  - a) 3 faculty members from each school.
  - b) The vice dean of the curriculum (students) from each school (currently Michael Heller from the Law School and Jonah Rockoff from the Business School).
  - c) One additional administrator from each school.
- 2) In addition, there shall be 2 non-voting student "advisors" to the committee. These students shall be enrolled in the JD/MBA program. Students will normally attend meetings, although some meetings (or parts) may be deemed sensitive and require an executive session without students.
- 3) The committee shall be led by two faculty co-chairs, one from each school, appointed by the respective Dean.
- 4) The Law School and Business School shall each determine their own processes for selection and term of its members, which can be changed at will.
  - a) Law School: current choice is to make one-year appointments, chosen by the Dean's office.
  - b) Business School: current choice is to make three-year renewable appointments, chosen by the Dean.

c) The JD/MBA students will be selected jointly by the appropriate administrators in the Law and Business schools, for one-year (potentially renewable) appointments.

## Composition of JD/MBA Committee for 2021-2022

<u>Law School</u> David Schizer (co-chair), faculty Jeffrey Gordon, faculty Joshua Mitts, faculty Michael Heller, faculty and Vice Dean of Curriculum Nkonye Iwerebon, dean of admissions

<u>Business School</u> Stephen Zeldes (co-chair), faculty Lawrence Glosten, faculty Christopher Mayer, faculty Jonah Rockoff, faculty and Vice Dean of Curriculum Marin Conaughty, Director of Academic Affairs

<u>Students</u> Two current JD/MBA students (TBD)