Event in an auditorium

On April 26, 2022, we honored Indra Nooyi, former CEO and Chairman of PepsiCo with the prestigious Botwinick Prize in Business Ethics for groundbreaking leadership and ethical decision-making throughout her career. 

About The Botwinick Prize

Each year, under the auspices of The Sanford C. Bernstein & Co. Center for Leadership and Ethics, The Botwinick Prize in Business Ethics and Ethical Practice in the Professions is awarded to an individual or representative of a business organization exemplifying the highest standard of professional and ethical conduct, as well as ethical decision-making in any of the professions, including, but not limited to, accounting, advertising, architecture, health care, journalism, law, public service and social service. The Botwinick Prize in Business Ethics and Ethical Practice in the Professions was established by a generous endowment from the late Benjamin Botwinick, BS ’26 and his wife, Bessie. 

In addition to The Botwinick Prize, the Botwinick family also graciously sponsors the Benjamin Botwinick Scholarship, awarded to deserving students in the first and second year. Both the Prize and scholarships help reinforce the family's commitment to leadership and ethics at Columbia Business School. 

For more information, please contact Traci Rosenthal at [email protected]

Past Recipients of the Botwinick Prize in Ethics

  Indra Nooyi Headshot

Indra Nooyi
Former Chairman & CEO

  Matthew McCarthy Headshot

Matthew McCarthy
Ben & Jerry's

  Rose Marcario Headshot

Rose Marcario
President & CEO
Patagonia, Inc.

  Kenneth Frazier Headshot

Kenneth C. Frazier
Chairman & CEO
Merck & Co.

 Benjamin Horowitz Headshot

Benjamin Horowitz '88CC 
Co-founder & General Partner
Andreessen Horowitz

 David Stern Headshot

David Stern
Commissioner Emeritus
National Basketball Association

 Howard Schultz Headshot

Howard Schultz
Chairman & Chief Global Strategist

 Mikael Ohlsson Headshot

Mikael Ohlsson
Former President & CEO
IKEA Group

Full List of Past Recipients 

2021 - Present

  • Indra Nooyi
    Former CEO and Chairman of PepsiCo (2022)
  • Matthew McCarthy
    CEO of Ben & Jerry's (2021)

2011 - 2020

  • Rose Marcario
    President and CEO of Patagonia, Inc. (2019)
  • Kenneth C. Frazier
    Chairman of the Board and CEO of Merck & Co. (2018)
  • Benjamin Horowitz '88CC 
    Co-founder and General Partner of Andreessen Horowitz (2017)
  • John P. Bilbrey
    Chairman of the Board, President, and CEO of The Hershey Company (2016)
  • David Stern
     Commissioner Emeritus of the NBA (2014)
  • Michael Hershman
     President and CEO of The Fairfax Group (2013)
  • Barbara Krumsiek
    Chair, President, and CEO of Calvert Investments (2012)
  • Mikael Ohlsson
    President and CEO of The IKEA Group (2011)

2001 - 2010

  • Peter Blom
    CEO of Triodos Bank (2010)
  • Craig R. Barrett
    Retired Chairman and CEO of Intel Corporation (2009)
  • Jeffrey Immelt
    Chairman and CEO of GE (2008)
  • Patrick Cescau
    Group Chief Executive of Unilever (2007)
  • James Sinegal
    President and CEO of Costco Wholesale Corporation (2006)
  • Joan Bavaria
    Founding President and CEO of Trillium Asset Management (2005)
  • Lord John Browne
    Group Chief Executive of BP (2004)
  • William McDonough
    Founding Partner of McDonough + Partners (2003)
  • Russell Carson ’67
    General Partner of Welsh, Carson, Anderson & Stowe (2002)
  • Jeffrey Swartz
    President and CEO of The Timberland Company (2001)

1989 - 2000

  • Howard Schultz
    Chairman and Chief Global Strategist of Starbucks (2000)
  • Henry Kravis ’69
    Founding Partner of Kohlberg Kravis Roberts & Company
    Founder and Chairman of the New York City Investment Fund (1999)
  • Business Ethics: J. Michael Cook
    Former Chairman and CEO of Deloitte & Touche LLP (1998)
  • Ethical Practice in the Professions: Ira Millstein
    Senior Partner of Weil of Gotshal & Manges LLP (1998)
  • Lord David Sainsbury ’71
    Former Chairman of J. Sainsbury PLC and Minister for Science, United Kingdom (1997)
  • Business Ethics: Aaron Feuerstein
    President and Owner of Malden Mills Industries, Inc. (1996)
  • Ethical Practice in the Professions: Washington SyCip ’43
    Chairman of The SGV Group (1996)
  • Business Ethics: Eugene Lang ’40
    Chairman Emeritus of REFAC Technology Development Corporation;
    Founder of The "I Have A Dream" Foundation (1995)
  • Ethical Practice in the Professions: James Kuhn
    Professor Emeritus of Columbia Business School (1995)
  • Anita Roddick
    Co-founder and CEO of The Body Shop (1994)
  • Donald J. Weiss
    President and CEO of White Storage and Retrieval Systems, Inc. (1993)
  • Muriel Siebert
    President and CEO of Muriel Siebert & Co., Inc. (1992)
  • Robert Gill
    Vice Chairman and COO of J.C. Penney Company, Inc. (1991)
  • Elliot Lehman 
    Co-chairman of FEL-PRO, Inc. (1989)